Directory Search

Login | Not a member? Join the chamber.


Comcast NBCUniversal Awards $45,000 in Scholarships to Twin Cities Area High School Seniors

  • Share:
May 31, 2018
MINNEAPOLIS - Comcast Twin Cities has awarded $45,000 in scholarships for the 2018-19 school year to 41 graduating high school seniors as part of the company’s annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program. The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, is a one-time, $1,000 scholarship awarded to the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are exceptional students who are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said J.D. Keller, regional vice president, Comcast Twin Cities. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

Comcast hosted a special reception honoring this year’s winners on Thursday, May 17 at the Minnesota State Capitol, attended by family members, supporters, and a variety of local and elected officials. In addition, Nou-Chee Chang of Minneapolis, a senior at Brooklyn Center High School, was selected to receive an additional $4,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship, instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation.

Since 2001, more than $28 million has been awarded to nearly 27,000 high school seniors across the country as part of the Leaders and Achievers Program. In the Twin Cities, Comcast has awarded more than $332,000 to hundreds of area students.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

Visit here to learn more.

Minnesota State Capitol Reception Honorees

Dejra Bishop, St. Paul, Highland Park High School

Nicholas Campion, Bloomington, Academy of Holy Angels

Molly Carroll, Plymouth, Wayzata High School

Erick Castellanos, Minneapolis, Roosevelt High School

Saahil Chadha, Excelsior, Minnetonka High School

Nou-Chee Chang, Minneapolis, Brooklyn Center High School

Anna Connelly, Eagan, Eagan High School

Vianka Damas Rosales, Fridley, Fridley Senior High School

Simon Dungan-Seaver, St. Paul, Open World Learning School

Katelyn Gasperlin, Maple Grove, Totino Grace High School

Selam Habtes, Cottage Grove, Park High School

Azhae’la Hanson, Minneapolis, North High School

Michael Hunter, Plymouth, Benilde-St. Margaret’s

Collin Invie, Woodbury, Woodbury High School

Makayla Jacobsen, Brooklyn Park, Osseo High School

Lily Jansa, Lino Lakes, Centennial High School

Edwina Keta, Brooklyn Center, Robbinsdale Cooper High School

Emily Klinker, Coon Rapids, Coon Rapids High School

Eleanor O’Callaghan, St. Paul, Central High School

Bola Ogunlana, Minneapolis, South High School

Elise Patchett, Woodbury, Math and Science Academy

Isabel Patrick Pacheco, St. Paul, Johnson High School

Alexis Ringler, Ham Lake, Blaine High School

Maria Rios De Santiago, Minneapolis, Edison High School

R’Elle Robinson, Lauderdale, Jennings Experiential High School

Zarina Sementelli, St. Paul, Como Park Senior High School

Ben Smith, Hudson, WI, Hudson High School

Michaela Snyder, Woodbury, St. Croix Preparatory Academy

William Thao, Hudson, WI, Mounds Park Academy

Ratsamee Thosaengsiri, St. Paul, St. Paul Harding High School

Danielle Ungurian, Inver Grove Heights, Simley High School

Destiny Washington, Edina, Edina High School

Jacob Weinstein, St. Paul, Saint Thomas Academy

Mailao Xiong St. Paul, Humboldt High School
Jill Hornbacher, Director of External Communications
(651) 493-5040